Elaine Guice

Elaine Guice

Member since Invalid Date
1
Review
1.0
1 out of 5 stars
Average rating

Reviews by Elaine Guice

BL

Blue Ridge Mountain Rentals

View company profile →

1 out of 5 stars

Disappointing and Dangerous experience

UPDATE: For any potential customers reading these reviews, it's essential to pay close attention to the tone of the company's responses. The replies come across as condescending, and the claims made are misleading. Writing reviews to inform others about possible fraud should not be dismissed as "spam." There is no way anyone could have accessed that mountain on the day we were there—this is simply untrue. While they offered me a credit for the same house, it feels pointless since I only travel to Boone to ski, meaning the same mountain would be just as treacherous as before. Additionally, the offer of six bottles of wine was inappropriate, as I do not consume alcohol. A fair resolution would have been a refund of $2,469 to stay at ANY of their rentals, but that was not provided. I have sought advice on this matter and someone will be in contact soon. I am writing this review to express my deep dissatisfaction with Blue Ridge Mountain Rentals following a recent experience that was not only disappointing but also dangerous. I rented a house for two nights at a cost of $2400, and was advised to use a 4-wheel drive vehicle with chains. My husband’s Chevrolet 2500HD is a large, capable truck equipped for such conditions. We have lived in Western North Carolina our entire lives (55 years) and are well-acquainted with driving in the snow. However, the situation we encountered upon arriving at the community was unacceptable. The entrance to the community was covered in snow, and it was clear that no efforts had been made to scrape or salt the roads. As we began to drive up the steep mountain, the slick conditions quickly became alarming. After a few turns climbing up we got stuck, and it was terrifying! We were sliding backward down the mountain with a steep drop-off on one side. Thankfully, we had a shovel in the truck, which allowed my husband to create a space to turn around. Descending the mountain was equally perilous. The road was a solid sheet of ice, and even with the truck in the lowest gear, we struggled to maintain control and sliding off the side of the mountain. This was a nightmare of a situation, compounded by the fact that we had two children in the back seat, and I continue to have flashbacks about it. We understand the driveway to the property not being maintained, we expected that, but we had no idea that the main road in the subdivision getting to the house would be in such bad icy conditions! When I contacted the rental company to explain that we couldn’t reach the property due to the hazardous road conditions, their response was disappointing. They simply said they would pass my message along to customer care. We had nowhere to go and so we went back home! It was very disappointing. The next day, I did receive a call from one representative who seemed skeptical about my claims regarding the road conditions. She promised to investigate and follow up, but it has been several days and I have yet to hear back. Upon reviewing the lengthy rental agreement, I discovered that the company absolves itself of any responsibility for access issues due to snow. They are fully aware of the potential dangers posed by the steep, unmaintained roads, yet they continue to rent properties without ensuring safe access. This experience did not only ruin our trip but also put my family's safety at risk. I feel compelled to warn others about Blue Ridge Mountain Rentals. While some may leave positive reviews, I urge potential customers to pay close attention to the negative feedback. This company is a scam, and they do not prioritize the safety or satisfaction of their clients. My family and I will not be returning, and I will continue to share our experience to prevent others from facing the same ordeal. Blue Ridge Mountain Rentals, expect to hear more from me.