Jo-Ann Stores

1.3583460949464012 out of 5 stars
1.4
Bad653 reviews

TrustScore

1.4
1.3583460949464012 out of 5 stars
Bad
5 out of 5 stars
34
4 out of 5 stars
8
3 out of 5 stars
14
2 out of 5 stars
46
1 out of 5 stars
551
653 reviews in total

Review summary

Jo-Ann Stores has room for improvement based on customer feedback. Customers particularly appreciate service and professional, though some mention concerns about customer service and expensive.

Based on reviews, created with AI

Featured Reviews

4/4 slots
POPULAR
1 out of 5 stars
1/5

This store owes me $150 in credit

This store owes me $150 in credit, the lady in the Michigan store said it would be honored up until the day the store wo...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement
POPULAR
1 out of 5 stars
1/5

Don't buy anything from their closing stores.

I'm pretty sure that this store doesn't care now because it's closing but I'm really upset about a purchase I made on Mo...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement
POPULAR
1 out of 5 stars
1/5

They are rip offs

Joanns is an absolute rip off. When you purchase an item that they put in a section of what you are looking for and it t...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement
POPULAR
1 out of 5 stars
1/5

North Richland Hills

North Richland Hills, TX - clearly marked their home decor fabrics at 70% off. Went to checkout and they claimed it was...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement

Want your best reviews featured?

Premium pins get 30× more visibility and boost customer trust

Filter by rating:
Tia Jones
Tia Jones
1 reviews
almost 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Do not use online if you're ordering bulk

I placed a relatively large order for yarn since I saw a deal on their website, yet multiple pieces of yarn that showed up as available on the website ended up “not being in stock” or available or however it was described. They sent me an update email saying those items would no longer be shipped and that whatever hold was placed for them would be released. That was fine; again, it was a reasonably large yarn order (about 90 skeins initially), and I just figured if I needed those colors, I would order from somewhere else when the time comes—the email they sent also stated that the rest of my order would still be processed. I continued to browse their website and saw some other yarns that were also a deal and ordered about 70 more skeins in 2 different orders. Fast forward to today, I got an email stating my entire first order was canceled. When I contacted customer service, they said that because they didn't have the "quantity" I ordered in a "few locations," they just canceled the whole order instead of processing the order through the various locations, which was appalling. Like you have the yarn, but not in one warehouse, so you would choose to lose money and be lazy as opposed to processing the order. I was also irritated, especially since 1. You don't have an order limit on your website, and 2. You don't give any options on where the order is being shipped from unless you choose to pick it up at a store. They then suggested I reprocess the order into multiple orders. Like what? Was I supposed to keep charging my card, and u cancel the order because the yarns weren't located in “a few” locations and I should have done this until I got it right? At that point, I was kind of annoyed, so I asked that they cancel the last two orders too because there were about 35-40 skeins in each of those, and I figured if there were a problem with the first order, most likely there would be a problem with that one too. Plus, if I couldn't even get all of the other colors I requested, there was no use in me getting the multicolor, too (I combine the two to make hats and various other items). The representative stated they couldn't cancel an order by request. But you can cancel it because you don't want to process multiple items through various warehouse locations?!? This is why I will stick to Amazon. Many of these businesses will be going out of business, not keeping up with the times. Word of Advice: if your items are being canceled but are still showing as available on the website, it's because they are available but obviously Joann’s doesn't want to put in the man power to have multiple items shipped through various warehouse locations (or maybe they don't want to pay the additional shipping fee on a close to $500 dollar order). Something they described as a max location request or some crap. If you are a bulk shopper when you see deals, do not shop at Joanne’s especially for yarn. I did the same at Yarn.com (WEBs) about a year ago because they had deals and I received everything in one shipment and it was a lot.

Helpful?
almost 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Horrible online purchasing.

The item I wanted was on sale but only if it was purchased online and picked up in the store. I placed the online order and paid part with a gift card, part with my debit card. I checked my bank later that night and the full amount of my purchase was taken out of my bank. I tried to verify the balance on my gift card and it now says the card/pin is invalid. Why put the option for gift card payment if you’re not going to honor it and charge me the full amount to my bank account.

Helpful?
almost 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

I will never ship here again!!

I will never shop here again!!! They do not respect your time!!! So they send me "70% off" coupon. I spend about 2 hours shopping. Meanwhile, only 1 out of 22 ordered items came in. Everything else was canceled. I am asking you: "why do you waste your customers' time like this???" Update your system to show what is available right away, so that people do not spend time on what you know is not available. This technique of attesting customers is really going to p*** them off. I, for one, will never shop at joann.com again!!!

Helpful?
Cathy Girton
Cathy Girton
1 reviews
almost 4 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

OLE BAIT AND SWITCH

I took ad I received in the mail for Joanns store in Clinton, Utah sale starting on Dec. 26 and headed to store by 9am. Ad read "up to 50% off on ENTIRE STOCK FABRIC...apparel, flannel/fleece, home dec and cotton". I had about 10 bolts of keepsake calico and headed to cut counter. After gal had cut 2 yards off 2 of the bolts I asked price and was informed they were not on sale and I showed the ad and the response was "they didn't write the ad and it didn't apply to certain fabric even though it said ENTIRE STOCK FABRIC". Needless to say I didn't buy any because this was the ole bait and switch deal. I was so angry I called the main office and 2 different representatives just said "sorry all they could do is offer me a 50% off coupon on a cut of fabric. Not all stores honor the flyers they send out." OMG!!!!!

Helpful?
Brenda G
Brenda G
1 reviews
almost 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Horrible shipping

Horrible shipping. I ordered before Thanksgiving and as of 12/14/2021 have not received my package. Customer service assured me last week it would arrive 12/13/2021. No package!

Helpful?
Deena
Deena
1 reviews
almost 4 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

The “Store manager” at the Lafayette…

The “Store manager” at the Lafayette location doesn’t know anything. She was checking me out and when we did the price match she said they didn’t do that. Well another manager said they did. Little miss store managers feelings were hurt and she said she was going to get clarification on Monday. Then she stopped in the middle of a transaction and called for that manager to check us out. And when I say us, it was me and my daughter who has worked at this Joann’s longer than said store manager. She has a chip on her shoulder about my daughter since day 1. Jealousy does not look good on her. I hope they do something about her soon because that store has gone down hill since she took over.

Helpful?
Colleen Maki
Colleen Maki
1 reviews
almost 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Online shopping is horrible

Online shopping is horrible. They charge your card the full amount as pending, then send things out piecemeal, charging for each item as they ship. If you order multiple items, it may come one or two at a time for several weeks. Meanwhile, your credit card still shows the amount of the full order in addition to the actual charges. The emails are worthless, they will notifiy you something you ordered has been cancelled, yet if you look at JoAnn.com for your order, it will show the item as shipped or waiting to be shipped. The text messages show shipping updates but is not linked to the order so you can't see what's arriving. If you click on it, it takes you to the online page that shows everything you ordered has been shipped- which is patently untrue. I tried to email customer service with a question - twice- and a week later I got an email asking if I was happy with the customer service response. Which I never got at all. Long story short- order only if you have a lot of time & patience and are happy with things arriving 1or2 at a time for weeks. Don't order on line if you're in a hurry, want everything to come all at the same time, or have limited balance on your credit card.

Helpful?
Bubbles
Bubbles
1 reviews
almost 4 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

Shopping with them online is awful

Shopping with them online is awful. Their inventory isn’t real time and majority of the items in my order were canceled. How does a large corporation allow this to happen? I will order my craft supplies via scrapbook .com or craft stash us. Shopping in their stores aren’t a joy either. I would have given them 1 star but Carmen from their customer service was nice and responded quickly.

Helpful?
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Cancelling In-Stock Items

I've ordered online with them a couple times. Each time I'll receive an email (5-7 days after purchase) saying part of my order has been cancelled. Yet those items are STILL available for purchase on the website!!! Last time I reordered the cancelled items and they shipped with no issue. It is incredibly unprofessional and a huge hassle for customers. If you must shop with them - I suggest doing it in store.

Helpful?
Bubbles
Bubbles
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

That still quiet voice should be…

That still quiet voice should be listened to. I had a feeling that If I ordered on line I would regret it. If I had known that the email they send saying "Your order will be delivered today" was all b/s and lies, I would have just ordered to pick up In store. They stated my order would be delivered Saturday, it's Monday today, past my delivery date, and I'm still waiting. I tracked the package and see it is In Houston (not anywhere near me), had been there a day with no progress updates. They shipped it FedEx smartpost apparently, for those like me who didn't know, FedEx Smart post only goes FedEx for part of the journey, It is then handed to USPS and delivered that way...pretty sure that's not explained in their shipping FAQ. Today I tracked it again to see if there is any progress and now it's scheduled for delivery Wednesday!!! So ordering on line is a huge disappointment and takes 4 days longer than their promised delivery date, so beware. Just order to pick up in store, or preferably buy elsewhere. I'm still waiting for my package! There was no response from Joanns customer service, and of course the store staff can't help. Never again.

Helpful?
Amanda Marley
Amanda Marley
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Gave one star because no option to give less

Gave one star because cannot give less! I ordered for shipping to the U.K. Part of my order was cancelled for no reason and some money refunded. A few days later the remainder of the order was also cancelled and some money refunded.Currently the entire order is cancelled but not all the money refunded. I have a huge chain of emails back and forth between Joann store and eShopworld their shipping partner. They keep saying it's all been refunded. I have on more than one occassion sent bank statements and prrof this is not so. I have also broken down the math for them but still nothing. DO NOT SHOP WITH THEM. Worst online experience EVER!!!!

Helpful?
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

NEVER BUY ONLINE

Is you buy online they will take two times the amount of what they are supposed to take and hold half of it until your order has been delivered to you. Meaning I paid 60 for my order and got charged another 60 when I call the sat we have your 60 set aside and secured until your order get delivered then well send it back like what. So if you have me other 60 sitting somewhere secured then why tf are you taking more. They also tried to tell me most companies to this that is the most bs over ever heard in my life I’ve ordered off several sites never have they taken my transaction twice and held half of it until I got my package and even at that I have to wait for it to process back onto my card. Honestly I may never shop with them in person again either. Freaking ridiculous

Helpful?
Disappointed
Disappointed
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Can't wait until they go under!

Customer service is a joke. Just go to Michael's instead. I've been trying to order online and my orders are constantly canceled. I have been trying to get a real person to help and 4 hours later, nothing. Customer service can't do anything (although they did speak with me for a while) and refunds (the department that supposedly is holding up my orders) flat out told me they won't help me. Don't waste your time or money. Michaels is way better, and cheaper. This store is stuck is 1900 and won't even let you speak to a real person to get an issue resolved. Absolutely the worst experience I've had with a retail store in a long time!

Helpful?
D J B
D J B
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
3 out of 5 stars

This has to do with the website…

This has to do with the website ordering itself. I have not yet contacted customer service, but from what it sounds like from other reviews, I will be out of luck. I was trying to make an online purchase using partial payment by giftcard and partial payment by credit card. Well, I entered my giftcard in and it was valid and showed a balance, BUT due to credit card issues my purchase did not go through. So, I found another credit card and went to start my order all over again. This time it said my giftcard was invalid. I assume the system thinks I already used it but my purchase was never completed!! so, I should still have the same balance I started with on that giftcard but it's just gone. How does the system NOT detect when the gift card funds are not actually used on a cancelled or voided purchase attempt? Luckily for me, the gift card balance was small so I didn't lose that much money, but it's still very frustrating. I won't be purchasing any Jo-ann's gift cards in the future, that's for sure. UPDATE: ok, my review of the website was 1 star, but after speaking with customer service, I updated my review to 3 stars. My customer service experience was great. I didn't think they would be able to help me, but they were extremely helpful in trying to figure out the problem with my giftcard and actually ended up sending me a new e-giftcard to replace the original one because they could see on their end that I never actually got to use my original e giftcard. I am very satisfied with the resolution of my problem.

Helpful?
Esmee
Esmee
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
5 out of 5 stars

Very pleased with my purchase!

I ordered a lot of Bernat Blanket Yarn from Jo-Ann because it is not sold in the Netherlands. The quality of the products are great and was shipped really fast. My order arrived 6 days after ordering. Really pleased with Jo-Ann and will definitely order there again!!

Helpful?
Kate Schuette
Kate Schuette
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Online order canceled due to sourcing

I have purchased from Joann.com multiple times. There are items online that aren't available in stores, or they are available, but not in stores near me (closest to me is 45 minutes away). They just cancelled my order due to sourcing product to their different fulfillment locations. It is upsetting because the items that they cancelled off of my order (my whole order) are showing they are still available to be shipped. It feels like it's false advertising and I'm not sure what I can order online anymore.

Helpful?
Sandy
Sandy
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Would give a negative number for the review if I could

I placed an online order of 6 different fabrics from JOANN.com. I ordered 2 yards of each one except for one that I ordered 4 yards of. Every single one of them were short of what I ordered and paid for. Some had slanted ends so that when I straighten it, I would be short several inches. I need 2 full yards for the blankets I'm making. I'm sending them back and I'm scared to order from them again so I will go elsewhere.

Helpful?
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Restocking fee of $25 on a $50 purchase return?!

I bought a Cricut Mini heat press online on sale for $49 and upon receiving it I found it way too small for my needs. I tried to return it today in store and was told I would have to pay a restocking fee of $25 !!!!!!!! I was livid and drug my mom from the store without purchasing her items. I will NEVER shop in Joann again! Corporate office can go strait to hell as far as I'm concerned >:(

Helpful?
BoxerMom
BoxerMom
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Customer Service After The Sale!

I had a bad experience in the Youngstown, OH store that was made so much better by exceptional customer service. I had coupon codes on my app, and when I checked out the associate told me that they wouldn't work. She didn't even try. Several days later, I received a survey in my email about my transaction and I remarked about what happened. I was almost immediately contacted by the store manager who looked up my transaction and found out that I was in fact eligible for a discount. She credited my card and apologized for the situation.

Helpful?
Johanna Hall
Johanna Hall
1 reviews
about 4 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Joann.com sells broken items

I ordered 10 items from Joann.com and 9/10 items, in 4 separate shipments, arrived completely broken. After contacting customer service about this issue with photo documentation, I only received an automated generic response telling me to bring the items to a store (45 minutes away from me) for return, or be charged to ship broken items back. Either of these would be viable options if the return were on my own accord and not because they are incapable of packaging items to be shipped appropriately. The pure inconvenience negates the online shopping experience and their customer service is nonexistent. I will never shop Joann.com again.

Helpful?

The CrowdTrust Experience

Anyone can write a CrowdTrust review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they'll be displayed as long as an account is active.

About Jo-Ann Stores

It appears there was a misunderstanding in your request. You've provided details about Jo-Ann Stores and its transition to being featured on Michaels' platform, rather than information about CrowdTrust, a review platform similar to Trustpilot. Without specific details about CrowdTrust, I cannot generate a precise company profile for it. However, I can offer a general template based on the information you intended to request about CrowdTrust, assuming it operates similarly to Trustpilot. CrowdTrust is an online review platform designed to foster trust between consumers and businesses by facilitating the sharing of genuine customer feedback. Serving as a bridge for communication, CrowdTrust offers a space where customers can leave reviews about their experiences with products or services, helping other consumers make informed decisions. With a user-friendly interface, the platform caters to a wide range of industries, allowing companies of all sizes to engage with their customers, respond to feedback, and improve their service offerings based on real-world insights. CrowdTrust's target market includes both individual consumers looking for reliable product or service recommendations and businesses aiming to enhance their reputation and customer satisfaction levels through transparency and direct engagement with their clientele.

Company information

Unclaimed profile

This profile hasn't been claimed by the business owner.

Our guarantee

We're all about transparency. Companies can't pay to alter or remove reviews from CrowdTrust.