Marco Pierre White Restaurants

2.049382716049383 out of 5 stars
2.0
Poor243 reviews

TrustScore

2.0
2.049382716049383 out of 5 stars
Poor
5 out of 5 stars
41
4 out of 5 stars
9
3 out of 5 stars
13
2 out of 5 stars
38
1 out of 5 stars
142
243 reviews in total

Review summary

Marco Pierre White Restaurants has room for improvement based on customer feedback. Customers particularly appreciate service and professional, though some mention concerns about customer service and expensive.

Based on reviews, created with AI

Featured Reviews

4/4 slots
POPULAR
5 out of 5 stars
5/5

Been to both Liverpool and Dublin

Been to both Liverpool and Dublin. Did not disappoint at all. Staff in both venues were friendly and the food is PHENOME...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement
POPULAR
2 out of 5 stars
2/5

Dissapointed disheartened and fed up

So arrived at the resturante and wow it was quite something for the places I've been to in Birmingham to dine out, so t...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement
POPULAR
5 out of 5 stars
5/5

Marco Pierre whites Staff were Amazing…

Marco Pierre whites Staff were Amazing welcoming and professional Team it was My 14th Anniversary a very special day for...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement
POPULAR
1 out of 5 stars
1/5

Title: Deeply Disappointing Wedding Experience – Poor Service, No Accountability

We held our wedding at Marco Pierre White Birmingham (Cube Hotel) in February 2025 and, sadly, it was one of the most di...Read more

0
0
🔥 High engagement

Want your best reviews featured?

Premium pins get 30× more visibility and boost customer trust

Filter by rating:
Janine Dobbs
Janine Dobbs
1 reviews
almost 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Purchased Black Friday vouchers mid…

Purchased Black Friday vouchers mid November hoping to eat in Cardiff restaurant which was still trading into December however when trying to make reservations for January found restaurant had been permanently closed! Basically told no refund as terms and conditions of vouchers state they will not honour if restaurant closes. Do not purchases any offers or vouchers for this restaurant chain it’s a scam to get your money

Helpful?
Mark
Mark
1 reviews
almost 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Mark L 2 Reviewed yesterday Waitress staff professional but very poor meal

I have eaten at many Marcco Pierre Whites restuarants in the UK and always had an excellent experience. Our meal today was a big disappointment and advise you to avoid. Waitress staff excellent but let down by food. Offered feedback but no response from manager. Main issues were: 1) Ordered the Turkey with all the trimmings. Gravy cold; stuffing like rubber; Turkey meat tough, ridicously small amount of vegetables 2) Ripped chairs, wobbly table 3) Slow service between courses Complained immediately but feedback fell on deaf ears. Experience affected the enjoyment of our day in Birmingham. Advise you to go elsewhere because much better places in Birmingham for half the cost.

Helpful?
Nicky Bamra
Nicky Bamra
1 reviews
almost 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Terrible!` just don't bother

We had an absolute shambles of an evening at this embarrassment of a venue. We spent £400 on our meal, the service was slow, the starters were brought out and we had to ask 4 times for one of our friend's starters to come, by that time it was 45 minutes later and he was still waiting and our mains had already started to come out. This is poor beyond belief. The toilets especially in the men's are disgusting, out of order cubicles and urinals were blocked and leaking all over the floor At 7.30 pm I wouldn't think this would be a late evening for a sitting. So we were shocked when we were told there was no prosecco how can a restaurant bar such as this which claims to be fine dining and sits in the higher tier price setting on food and drink, just simply run out at such an early time in the evening? So, we had to opt for a more expensive rose champagne instead as we had no alternative to toast our festive meal. We sat right in front of the kitchen, and still, our meals were late coming out and were incorrect. 3 guests had to return their plates to get the correct orders. our chairs and decor were so shabby and torn seating on every chair, its embarrassing even a decent pub doesn't have ripped decor you need to sit in. I also have taken photos of this as proof. As this was the first time we had come to Marco's restaurant and had a terrible time. I would like a full refund or to be compensated as we didn't enjoy our evening we had to constantly keep chasing for lost food, orders and missing drinks - our experience was poor. My thoughts are since 2018 as I have read other reviews since my experience you have known about these issues you have at your establishment and still after 5 years you have not rectified them - again, this is poor as you are not valuing your guest's feedback and experiences.

Helpful?
almost 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

We had a Christmas treat from our…

We had a Christmas treat from our children. The food we received in the Marco Pierre restaurant in London was awful and very disappointing. We will not be visit anytime. Please don’t waste your money on this restaurant.

Helpful?
Lin-S
Lin-S
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Events booking: buyer beware!

I booked a private-room event at The Cube Birmingham for a work gathering, for 25 people at £40 each for the meal, drinks on top. We had to pay the entire amount of £1,000 well in advance. I told them 18 days before the event that we would only be 17 people and assumed the balance would go towards drinks and any remaining balance would be refunded. "That's not how we do things" was the response, and I was told that there would be NO refund at all, regardless of amount. The balance remaining on the account was £400 or so, a lot for a few glasses of lunchtime wine. I was absolutely appalled, so my advice to anyone thinking of booking an event here is this: book for the minimum number of people and add on as required! That way you won't be fleeced. I asked if any unspent balance could be used to tip the waiting staff and I was told that was possible, however a few roundabout enquiries to people in the know told me that this restaurant does not share tips with their staff, which is totally reprehensible. When we arrived, the young woman at the desk said she had no record or our reservation (almost giving me heart failure!!). After several minutes of tapping at her computer she said "Oh, you have a private room booked". As I had told her that at the beginning, a lot of worry could have been avoided if she had just listened. It was an embarrassing few minutes though as I had work colleagues around me who understandably though I might have messed up! The meal - no more than ok. The food is very pretentiously named.... "Mr White's Scotch Egg" had a suitably runny yolk - achieved by sous-vide rather than soft-boiling judging by the consistency, but the sausagemeat around the outside was actually unpleasant with a very strange texture as if the sausagemeat was uncooked. I didn't eat much of it. The fishcake I chose for main looked pretty much just like the scotch egg. It was acceptable but almost entirely made of salmon which is a fish I don't enjoy. We ordered some sides of chips and they looked ok although I didn't try them. Cheese was my pudding choice (at a supplement) and there was lots of it, but served with some little crackers that were the texture of cardboard and about as tasty, no butter was offered. Following the event I asked for an itemised invoice which arrived - minus the bar tab which was just shown as a single cost. I asked for an itemised bar tab to be sent and it was eventually emailed, showing a small balance left which I didn't even bother to ask them to give to the staff as I knew they would ignore this request. The lobby is very strangely decorated with endless photographs of the 'great man' himself, including a whole-wall close up photograph of him. Just how narcissistic does someone have to be to cover the walls of their restaurant with photographs of themself? Summing up: the views from two glass walls are magnificent, making it a gorgeous venue if you're not afraid of heights, but their business practices AND the food leave a lot to be desired. I would not dream of returning - I've eaten in a MPW restaurant in London before which was equally unimpressive.

Helpful?
David Woods
David Woods
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

An experience to regret and forget

Four of us went to Mr Whites on Leicester Square for afternoon tea and we would never go again. The ambiance was dreadful, an adjacent table was occupied by a group of extremely loud and ‘well oiled’ men whose conversation was heavily laced with profanities. Staff made no attempt to address their poor behaviour for the benefit of other customers who were clearly disturbed by them. The hot chocolate drinks were served barely luke warm, all of the scones were dry, burnt black and inedible and the sandwich fillings were very disappointing. Do not be fooled by the use of a distinguished chefs name, the experience will not live up to expectations in any way, shape or form until drastic improvements are made.

Helpful?
Kay
Kay
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

Went to mr white’s at Leicester Square…

Went to mr white’s at Leicester Square for afternoon tea (this was a birthday treat) really disappointed. When booking was made, 3 weeks ago, I also requested plain scones and again day before. On arrival shown to table which was ok but no tablecloths on the tables. Advised waitress I had requested plain scones and was advised there were no plain scones available as their supplier didn’t have any. Staff not bothered eventually was offered additional sandwiches or cake. Asked for additional macarons but waitress bought us extra fruit scones!!! No teaspoons available to stir tea with had to use a fork! Don’t waste your money coming here, I for one will not be returning. Really disappointed.

Helpful?
Customer
Customer
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Beyond awful

Atmosphere was terrible - very bright lights. No table clothes (even though on pictures on website), plates slide around on the table - service was diabolical as very short staffed. No wine list, so was offered the house wine only with no mention of cost. Was worse than being on an airport concourse. The absolute best (and I am being sarcastic) were the little midgets accompanying us during our meal and flying around us. When I pointed them out to the manager (as they were on the ceiling and could be clearly see) I was politely thanked and then ignored! I was seriously disappointed and it ruined what was meant to be a very happy evening. Thank you MPW for nothing!

Helpful?
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Awful service,awful food,25 mins before…

Awful service,awful food,25 mins before we even got a drink,had better food at my local chippy...avoid

Helpful?
about 2 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

Dated and service poor

Went today for afternoon tea.. sat down then waited 30 mins for someone to come to the table. We got our food after 45 mins. The waitress was very polite and did keep coming to check in on us. The decor is dated and the chair i sat on was ripped on the seat and arm. An additional £6.40p was added for service charge… REALY? Mens cubical toilets were out of order.

Helpful?
MjN
MjN
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

Birthday meal

Birthday meal - disappointed with table service staff was rude. Starter tasted like jared paste, mash potato was bitty & dry (6.50) additional charge. An expensive but poor quality experience, wouldn't go back. So much better quality out there to choose from.

Helpful?
Beverley Shea
Beverley Shea
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Shocking

Booked a table for 4 people....had a gift voucher. We we're told no bookings after 4.30pm for gift vouchers. When the booking was made no one mentioned this even though we told the restaurant we had a gift voucher for 2 people. The restaurant was half empty and the manager refused us despite it being their fault. Why would I book a table at 7pm if they weren't taking them....ridiculous, rude, never again will we step foot in a Marco Pierre restaurant.....we would have probably spent well over £200 with wine and other food!!!!

Helpful?
phillip
phillip
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Diabolical; MPW BIRMINGHAM

Diabolical. Worst dining experience in a long long time. Everything was poor from start to finish. I'm fed up of this type of establishment offering such poor service and standard's and then bleating in the press how tough times are; WELL, DO YOUR JOBS AND PEOPLE WILL COME BACK, WE CERTAINLY WONT.

Helpful?
sohail
sohail
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

used virgin gift voucher but experience…

used virgin gift voucher but experience was bland. This was the London middlesex street branch. The fishcake was not that great, the bed of spinach was horrible and felt like it hand sand in it - yuck. To add injury to insult despite having paid for the 3 course meal the hotel slips in a sneaky 'optional' service charge of over £9, which the waiting staff only see a tiny portion of. All in all not impressed and will discourage others.

Helpful?
about 2 years ago
2 out of 5 stars

My wife and I came to the restaurant in…

My wife and I came to the restaurant in Durham in the hotel Indigo, the starter my wife had was macaroni cheese that tasted as if it was out of a packet, I had a sirloin steak priced at £27.95 and I could of cooked better myself from a mature aged steak from Tesco, this was a celebration anniversary dinner and to be honest the whole was very mediocre, will not return anytime soon, if hospitality wants industry wants us to come they need to do better

Helpful?
R.Ellen
R.Ellen
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Arrived to be sat down and ignored…

Arrived to be sat down and ignored while others were served around us. After 10 minutes we were informed our afternoon tea gift voucher had ‘already been redeemed’ despite me clearly showing them proof that it hadn’t as I had never been there before. Embarrassing. Waited a further half an hour with not even a glass of water offered to us and still being completely ignored to then be told we could finally order. I informed them (as I had on booking) of my serious peanut allergy, they seemed like they’d never come across someone with an allergy before and I was made to sign a strange waiver on a piece of paper, when I asked what I was signing as I had never been shown the allergens the waiter just informed me that there were no peanuts?! A manager then seemed to bring an allergen menu *after* I signed this waiver. After 45 total of waiting we finally got our drinks. Cakes and sandwiches were mediocre and we were so annoyed at this point we ate and left. All the while we didn’t receive an apology from any of the staff members. A horrendous experience that was supposed to be a nice treat.

Helpful?
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Marco Pierre White Cube Birmingham

Marco Pierre White - Cube Birmingham Unwelcoming staff Worn out furniture and shabby restaurant needing refurbishment Not wheelchair friendly- shove the disabled at the back on a table with damaged chairs Avoid

Helpful?
John
John
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

We wanted to do something special to…

We wanted to do something special to celebrate our wedding anniversary and decided that Marco Pierre White Steakhouse, Bar & Grill Hull, would surely fit the bill. However, the whole experience was a real let down. The calamari that I had for a starter came out of a packet and was like chewing rubber, my wife's prawn cocktail was just as bad as the prawns were tough (how did they manage that). I asked the waitress what Koffmann chips were and she explained that they are oven chips, she was right. Both steaks when they came were over cooked and dry even with a passable sauce. There was no ambiance and the service was poor. If you want calamari out of a packet, oven chips, over cooked steaks, over priced then this is the place for you. If not stay away.

Helpful?
about 2 years ago
1 out of 5 stars

Mr White s Leicester Square London

Virgin Experience customer, paid around £95 per voucher to Enjoy a dinner, got there and got irritated in the first 10 minutes, been let to think of the menu…a bit way too long, water glasses where left empty the whole service had to sip from the “ cocktails “ included in the voucher if you can call them so, my partner she asked for a non alcoholic Momo which turns out it was tasting like “ all the citrus squeezed over a whole shift on the rubber mats “ …to better describe, you know that pronounced smell of the half-orange peel that remains in the bin at home until flies come around after you squeezed for a fresh ? That was the sour-bitter flavour..and In the Menu the first ingredient described for the famous non alcoholic Momo is Peach ..therfore Pronounced In Peach Flavour…ask any proper bartender how to put ingredients in the menu in the right order…in your case Peach not Orange Peel is the Main flavour… Good ! I now have to move to the kitchen.. DO NOT in case you get trapped to enter and sit and eventually order starters DO NOT / AVOID “ Garlic bread “ or “ Tomato Garlic bread “ which ever we asked..it is Not Bread … It’s a half focaccia without any garlic and a bit of tomato basil sauce from pizza probably…doesn’t have No taste therefore if you read that lady s review of 4-5 service..just ignore..she basically likes Pizza not restaurant standards..she basically had pizza dough and more dough with pizza toppings after…there is No Garlic Bread there… Caesar salad starter with anchovies can’t complain..it had a nice dressing, I love those fresh cut croutons but hey ..where was the anchovy ? Fresh avocados 🥑 big thumb for that tiny bit…At Least ! Compared to the momo non alcoholic cocktail there was something fresh in that restaurant before my 28 days dried steak… Finally speaking of ..steak…it was a Share Plate …watch the tip of the knife I been given, I had to wipe it myself to discover the tip that could injure me if I wasn’t figuring out something hurts me as I wipe…then after I realised I didn’t actually needed to risk my fingers because I asked for medium well done and Chef took decision to Slice it for us as a shared plate ..Really Unprofessional…just like buying a watermelon from a turkish market where they cut a triangle for you to taste first …why should I receive a sliced steak ? Just because you are not sure it’s not red inside ? Other chefs know how to do it leaving me the pleasure to slice it..because That Is Why you put me knives on the table right ? Right…I don’t even want to add I asked for a bit of crushed ice to try and chill that bitter Momo rubbish drink and the annoyed runner brought me a Top Full Glass with Ice that much for you to imagine if I would pour the cockatil proseco glass in the big glass, it would perfectly fit the holes in between all that ice..who drinked it anyway? We had to sip it as we had not been served even Tap Water … Noisy…really noisy…doesn’t even compare with the privacy at London Steakhouse in Liverpool street … I came to this location because I believed the story where Mr Pierre White actually brought a higher standard on his way back to London with this “ Mr White “ Restaurant… I highly recommend go to London Steakhouse, cheaper, more quiet and people look after you with more care …simple and decent yet with high standards of service, clean mise en place before seat… To make it in one sentence… I paid £112 for two cheap cocktails, one salad and one focaccia + “ Naked Burger “ as expensive main, because the fries where brown soaked coated from overused oil and the steak sliced before…basically a burger without a bun…I wonder why you didn’t minced it instead and bring me spoons…I had no desert anyway…spoons could have been considered…unlike the knife for that steak would match perfectly…the chef and the restaurant manager are milking heavily money out of that place…taste of the steak was good but Men..Low Service standard., present me the route of the plates that come with the shared plateau because judging the amount of fingers I’m…Pass, No 2nd walk in !!! Pictures are added on Google reviews and Tripadvisor, this website does not have pictures option…

Helpful?
Janet
Janet
1 reviews
about 2 years ago
5 out of 5 stars

Nice place

Nice place! Great experience!

Helpful?

The CrowdTrust Experience

Anyone can write a CrowdTrust review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they'll be displayed as long as an account is active.

About Marco Pierre White Restaurants

No description available for this company yet.

Company information

Unclaimed profile

This profile hasn't been claimed by the business owner.

Our guarantee

We're all about transparency. Companies can't pay to alter or remove reviews from CrowdTrust.